Skip to content

Jondachi River, Ecuador

January 18, 2012

What I’m most proud of from that day on the Jondachi is that I stayed calm. When the boat flipped on that last IV+ rapid and Paul fell on top of me, pushing me even further underwater, I didn’t panic. I just relaxed as I was kicked in the head by my nervous swimming boatmates.

And later – after I made it to the shore and picked my way along until I found the boat – when nobody knew where Paul was, I stayed calm. Only that time it was more about fatigue than control.

And even later, back in the jeep, when that Swiss guy said “Let’s do it again,” I didn’t react, even though I heartily disagreed.

All photos by Rios Ecuador.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Makaela Herran permalink
    March 23, 2012 9:24 am

    new blog soon?

Leave a Reply

