Skip to content

Riding My Bike, or, Back in the Saddle

September 30, 2010

September 30, 2010. I’ve been injured lately, but I’m getting better. Although I’m still limited in my ability to have fun, I have been able to ride my bicycle.

Getting back on my bicycle was godly.  I hadn’t done anything cardiovascular in the past month, and the lack of exercise was beginning to affect my life.  It was hard to get to sleep and hard to wake up in the morning, but after riding my bike, life was clear and perfect again.

I have ridden the Green Canyon trail a few times in the past week.  Bart came with me the first few times.  We leave our house out the front door and ride for about 2.5 miles on paved roads.  Bart takes these 2.5 miles at a full sprint.  We then ride for a few miles of single track where Bart is always in the lead.  When we turn around and start downhill, however, Bart falls behind.  He runs as fast as he can but he can’t keep up, and he slows down as he gets tired.

On our ride on Saturday, by the time we made it back to the road, Bart was more tired than I have ever seen him.  We both walked slowly until we got to a canal.  Bart jumped in and drank for several minutes until I coaxed him back out. We needed to get home but he was too tired.  We rested on someone’s lawn until Bart had stopped breathing hard.

“It’s time to go home, Bart.”

We both stood up and Bart vomited.  All over the sidewalk.  A fairly significant volume.

He seemed to feel a little better after that.

Bart. Photograph by Jacob Buckner.

Bicycle and autumn. Photograph by Jacob Buckner.

Sunset on the way out. Photograph by Jacob Buckner.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

